sacta was established within SA in 2013 as a response to the Aged Care Reforms which were expected to have significant changes for the community transport sector such as:


  • Transitioning to a competitive market.

  • The ever increasing wishes of governments to interact with peak bodies rather than individual organisations.

It was believed that the time was right to form a Community Transport peak body in SA to enable providers to have a consolidated voice moving forward.

In 2015 the Australian Community Transport Association peak asked the South Australian focus embrace the Northern Territory as part of a national initiative.

sacta is a Peak Body providing a united voice for its Community Transport members in South Australia and Northern Territory.

Our role is to:


  • Strengthen community and political awareness around the value of community transport


  • Advocate on behalf of our members to all levels of government: local, state and federal including representation from SActa to the national peak body – ACTA (Australian Community Transport Association). 

  • Provide opportunities for members and transport providers to connect, be informed and promote the value of community transport.

sacta has been providing leadership, support, and resources to our members and currently has members from Local Governments, the Not for Profit Sector, Community Passenger Networks, other transport providers and various associate memberships.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and Elders past and present across Australia. We give particular acknowledgement to the traditional custodians of the lands where our members are located and the areas where we work. We pay our respects to the Elders both past and present and to those of the future, for they hold the memories, the traditions, the cultures and aspirations of Aboriginal Australia. We must always remember that under the concrete and asphalt that land is, was and will always be traditional Aboriginal land.



CHAIR / PUBLIC OFFICER: Kaylene Matthias, COTA SA (Council of the Aging)

SECRETARY: Marisa Ellks,  Mount Barker Council

TREASURER: David McDonald, Community Care and Transport Inc.

WEBSITE DEV: Sidique Bah, Multicultural Communities Council of SA

Charles Mountain, RAA

Jo Parker, Barossa and Light Council




For more information about how to join the committee, click here.



P: 0427 430 243




©2021 by SActa.